Skip to content

Sneak Peek: Chocolate Whoopie Pies

November 15, 2010

Hey sexy.

Yeah, I’m talking to you.

I bet you know a thing or two about making whoopee huh? But do you know a thing or two about making whoopie pies?

No?

Well, you’re in luck because you don’t even have to make them yourself! Our resident whoopie pie maker G-ma, of G-ma’s Bakery, will tempt us with her Chocolate Whoopie Pies on December 4th at the Eat My Blog bake sale. The word on the street is that eating one of her whoopie pies will guarantee that you will be getting some whoopee later on. Seriously, go ahead and prove me wrong.

We asked G-ma to share one of her favorite baking memories with us and this is what she had to say:

It’s hard to pick just one favorite baking memory, but I’d have to say making Christmas cookies at home with my parents. Each year, we make sugar cookies with Tom and Jerry cookie cutters that my grandmother used decades ago when she made Christmas cookies for my Dad. Even though I now live on the opposite side of the country, making these cookies is still part of our tradition when I come home for the holidays. The three of us huddle around the unbaked cookies, sprinkle them with red and green sugar, and press walnuts into the dough where the ears are, with my Dad at some point remarking how mean it is we’re making poor Tom and Jerry deaf. Once we’ve eaten a cartoon mouse or cat cookie with a giant walnut sticking out of its ear, then it’s officially Christmas at my house.

Awww, that’s sweet even though the cookies are deaf. Traditions like yours make the holidays that much warmer and fuzzier. And all this talk about chocolate and whoopee…man, I can’t wait for the bake sale. Can you?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

